Lee Charles — Standing On The Outside Looking In


Here’s the proof: You’re never too old to fall in love. I just fell in love with this song. The strings just did it … “Standing On The Outside” is one of these songs that want me to spread my imaginary wings and just fly.
I have to admit, though, that the artist’s name didn’t sound familiar. But, thank goodness, I found an informative article about him here. The article ends with the sad conclusion that, “he seems to have just vanished into thin air. And that’s all I can tell you about the late Lee Charles Nealy. His legacy comprises twelve solo releases, all worthy of a place in your collection, a couple of mystery 45‟s that probably don‟t exist (there always are!), and a host of co-writer credits.”
Thank God for all the vinyl junkies who dig out such gems as Lee Charles’ songs and share their treasures with us.

Here’s a song he recorded for the Brunswick label, “Wrong Number.” It took me a while to find out whose voice it reminds me of: Al Wilson’s? Right?

Standing On The Outside

Leave a Reply

